THE TIME I WAS STRUCK BY THE BITTER REALITY OF LIFE

I still remember it was one of those chilly November afternoons, which as you know is very rare here in Karachi but so it was. It was my favorite time of the day the part where I sit with my family and have our very own mini tea party with all the yummy snacks after a nice replenishing nap. It was our happy time like always.

I remember that at first the news didn’t hit me at all, like you hear something from the news and you acknowledge it but that’s pretty much it.

In between our laughter and merriment my father got a call and suddenly the temperature considerably dropped a degree and the atmosphere got tense as his face went from happy smiling one to shocked tense and visibly sad. I remember that at first the news didn’t hit me at all, like you hear something from the news and you acknowledge it but that’s pretty much it.

It wasn’t like i knew her for a very long time for me to be desperately agonized by it but there they were, my father and mother, both extremely tense, sad and if it would be justifiable miserably sad.

For a minute i wondered if I’m even a sane person..

For a minute i wondered if I’m even a sane person why i don’t feel the same. Why I’m not that desperately miserable at the news of demise of my neighbor and there it was then, as if on cue, the memories started flooding in the last time i saw her. The way she looked like when she smiled or rolled her eyes or snuck up her nose proudly while telling about her overachieving son. The last time i saw her she looked so healthy almost well.

I know its cliche and foolish but i can’t help wondering if i knew it was the last time im ever gonna see this person would I have acted different, perhaps be a bit more kinder? More open? More understanding instead of judging?

… we as humans tend to try and ignore this bitter truth: the reality that we all must die someday…

It’s sad though that we take things for granted like the last time u saw your friend u could have hugged them more tightly, said a warmer goodbye perhaps? But no, we as humans tend to try and ignore this bitter truth: the reality that we all must die someday and it could very well be the last of one of the closest people around you. So if you have people around that you love keep them close, be more warmer in your interactions, a bit more kinder, take that ride you are dreading in the carousel, take those guitar/piano lessons, do whatever makes you happy because life is too short to live in fear or contemplation. Make your living worthwhile cause in the end it’s all that matters.

I thought why not give you all a slice of my life hope you all liked it. If you ever experienced anything similar do let me know in the comments below 😉 Until then,

Love,

Iqra

4 thoughts on “THE TIME I WAS STRUCK BY THE BITTER REALITY OF LIFE

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started